Melbourne: 5 amazing things about the city


There are 59283273 places I want to visit… and Australia, the continent is one. Too large to visit entirely… unless I take one of those trans-continental trains but Melbourne seems to be a good place to start. Why? It’s a city and for the following reasons. So this is a pretty map of Melbourne to start with…

I am fascinated with maps. And love artists who do their own impressions of their favourite place/city/country.

Luna Park: For chills and thrills

What’s the first thing that stands out in this map… a funny, white and oversized face in the South of Melbourne. The face is of Mr Moon, the entrance of a popular amusement park called the Luna Park located in a Melbourne suburb called St Kilda. It is one of the 5 Luna Parks that were built in Australia, of which the only other one that still operates is in Sydney.

Mr Moon of the Luna Park
Mr Moon of Luna Park fame. Look at his grin, so wide but a great place to take a selfie :p

http://www.pinterest.com/lunaparkmelb/luna-park-melbourne/ I love amusement parks… In and around Mumbai, I’ve been to Essel World, Fantasy Land (no more, sigh), Yazoo Park (Virar) and Imagica (Khopoli). Here’s a short video on the history of the Luna Park in Melbourne. History of an amusement park, pretty killer.

Random fact worth knowing: Luna Park’s Carousel is the largest and most elaborate in the Southern Hemisphere. Carousels have always been magical rides for me.

The free-spirited Yarra River

The second thing that caught my attention is the Yarra River. Why? Cause I teach Geography and I dig nature. Rivers are fascinating. Their origin, their flow, the habitat around and inside them, the temperature of the water, what the water is use for, etc etc. Known to be one of the cleanest capital city rivers in the world, the Yarra is one of the reasons why Melbourne became a big city.. access to fresh water from the river was key. It feeds the city’s reservoirs! A history of the Yarra River and why it is so crucial for Melbourne!

The iconic river is central to numerous Melbourne events like the Moomba festival, the Melbourne Festival and Dragon Boat Festivals. Dragon boat racing is one of the fastest growing sports in Australia today.

Photo courtesy  http://www.dragonboatvictoria.com.au/gallery
The Dragon Boat Festival on the Yarra River Photo courtesy http://www.dragonboatvictoria.com.au/gallery

The picturesque settings are also home to rowing regattas. In addition to these, the banks of the river are popular for being barbecue and picnic spots and fishing hangouts. The valley formed by the river is home to wineries and you can view it from the sky by taking one of those hot-air balloon rides. There are river boat cruises that you can try too.

The Eureka Tower SkyDeck

Architecture! This city grows upwards and beautifully. Its buildings are pretty. The tallest of them all is the Eureka Tower and yes, you can touch the sky and reach the sky in 38 seconds flat cause the elevator is so fast it can take you from floor 1 to floor 88 so very fast. The SkyDeck lets you view the city from this highest point in the Southern Hemisphere. And if you’re not someone who is scared of heights you should visit the glass cube on the top floor called ‘The Edge’ that protrudes outside of the tower allowing you to see beneath your feet, suspended almost 300 meters above the ground!

The vibrant street art 

The stencil art capital of the world. You cannot miss the street art in the city! Legal street art includes stencils, paste-ups and murals. The official Melbourne city site says, “The City of Melbourne recognises the importance of street art in contributing to a vibrant urban culture. Melbourne’s street art has become internationally renowned and has become an attraction for local and overseas visitors experiencing Melbourne’s creative ambience.” Sweet! Hosier Lane is supposed to be the most-famous area to see street art in the city. It’s awesome for its vibrant colours, each wall, very Instagrammable. A virtual tour of the street

Here’s a look at the other talking walls of this city

Rash, a film on the street art in Melbourne is worth a watch.

Queen Victoria: Shopping like a royal

Love shopping and food, you cannot miss The Queen Victoria Market. This is perhaps the Crawford Market of Melbourne. Why? Cause it is a historic landmark. It spreads over two city blocks. You can shop for everything from Australian fruit and vegetables, and local and imported gourmet foods, to cosmetics, clothing and souvenirs. Here’s market matriarch Carmel taking you on a foodie tour around the Market

For many places to visit and plan your trip, visit the official Tourism Melbourne website. Here’s a playlist of some more! Featuring Rohan Joshi and Tanmay Bhat
A question for my readers: Which of these places would you want to visit in Melbourne and why? One winner gets a gift voucher!

10 comments

  1. Ah the love affair that is Melbourne!
    I was privileged enough to visit this gastronomic city last year , but sadly a broken ankle had me restricted to a wheelchair and there are so many things that have been left undone on my Melbourne wish list. My heart aces cause I missed experiencing so many things.
    Here’s one of them:

    We had started the drive on the great ocean road. Our first major pit stop was at the bells beach. They parked the car. Everyone hopped off. I dint want to slow them down. I parked myself on the bench close by. Close enough to feel the salt in the air but far enough to not feel the sand between my feet. I shed to tear that day. I really missed out. Saw my son build sand castles, I shed a tear for the fact that I couldn’t be down there sharing this moment with him. If given a chance id go back on the Great Ocean Road just to feel the sand between my feet.
    All over again.
    How I wish!

    Like

  2. Amazing Article.
    If I get a chance to visit Melbourne then
    I would like to spend my time in the Great Otway National Park, because I love watching animals. I would love to take a city tour by travelling on the Tram’s of Melbourne. By travelling in tram’s I want to explore every nook & corner of Melbourne. Besides this I would love to watch the amazing architectures of Melbourne like Eureka Tower, Royal Exhibition Building, etc. And without enjoying festivals, my journey would be incomplete so I will celebrate Australian Festivals.
    And how can I forget The MCG (Melbourne Cricket Ground). As cricket is my favourite sport I would love to watch the Cricket world cup final which will take place at the largest stadium of Australia, that is, MCG.

    – Manu
    Harstuff Travel – http://goo.gl/6t4oZy

    Like

  3. Interesting Post
    After reading your post and watching all the videos
    I feel I have stepped into a kaleidoscope called Melbourne
    Where Vistas of experiences would unfold one after another
    The nature lover in me is enticed by the thought of watching the penguin parade.
    Traveling though the great ocean road, soaking up the freshness as the breeze ruffles my hair gets me in the mood to pack my bags for Melbourne.
    But before I can move ,Puffing Billy whistles and invites me for a ride. The kid in me jumps with joy at the thought of visiting Pannys Phillip Island Chocolate Factory
    Even before I can deside on the list of places that I would like to see in and around Melbourne.
    What’s that noise that I hear ?
    Oh its loud cheer from MCG as the cricket world cup 2015 is about to kick start.
    So many plces to see and so much to do.
    I am thetimetraveler ( http://goo.gl/wdXDzu ) and I have decided … Melbourne here I come ( http://goo.gl/RvUCQf )

    Like

  4. MCG, the Australian mecca for cricket lovers. I would definitely like to be in Australia when either Indian team or the English team happens to be on tour, the nest time. Will be a memorable experience to watch the rivalry unfold right in front of my eyes, sitting right in the middle of MCG.

    – Ranjith (http://www.alightheartedtalk.com)

    Like

  5. Great post! After reading your post & watching all the videos, I’d most like to visit the Dandenong Ranges for it’s scenic beauty, breathtaking view and cool breeze blowing through my hair. 😛 I’d give anything away for driving through the winding roads which are present throughout the ranges. I’d love to stay at one of the bed and breakfast cottages and go on frequent excursions in the forests with my camera which provides excellent views. And not to forget the famous ride in the Puffing Billy, a day reserved especially for that. To add to that, there are also several picnic spots for me and my friends to spend a fun-filled day and the ranges are a perfect spot for hiking and cycling.

    Pingback: https://cruxrebels.wordpress.com/2014/12/24/melbourne-the-place-to-be-see/

    Wish you and your blog a happy new year! :D

    Like

  6. dear blah-blah, i enjoyed the details about the dragon boat regatta on the Yarra river. I agree with you when you say that it is a geographical fact of interest, but it also weaves the history and involves the humanities of that area. I would very much like to visit the river, but when are the races held and are women involved too?

    Like

Leave a comment