A few days ago, I put some boiled eggs on my pizza and baked it. They were edible and so was the pizza. Yes, I would be hiding something if I didn’t tell you that the eggs were slightly rubbery in texture. But heck, at least I tried something new. I thought my idea was rather unique and so I shared an image of my creative masterpiece with my brother, who happens to be a chef.

IMG_5556

Predictably, I got a rather snarky Ramsayesque reply. It felt like a hard slap on my pizza face.

DEYfU9JUMAAlZdi

I googled it to see if there was any such rule. A rule that dictated how many toppings were too many. And there really isn’t.

Here are some of my other pizza tops with toppings. Do you see anything you would want to try?

I even tried avocado once and it was good.


I use my pizza toppings to fill taco boats when I’m bored of eating pizza.
This is what they look like…

IMG_4605

On my recent visit to Mumbai (India), I managed to grab something that I would call an ‘Indian pizza’. The Masala Papad – a crispy tortilla made of moong dal or a lentil variant, topped with toppings – is a popular street food in Mumbai. Eaten as a snack, it has all kinds of vegetarian toppings, the most interesting ones being – pomegranate and raw mangoes. Check out the photo of what a ‘masala papad’ looks like…

IMG_4595

Also, watch this video of how it’s made.

Coming back to pizzas. Here’s a WIP list of some of the toppings I have used on pizzas so far.

1. Onions
2. Tomatoes
3. Green chilies
4. Garlic
5. Broccoli
6. Capsicum / Bell peppers – All colors
7. Cheese – cottage, mozzarella, parmesan, cheddar
8. Sweet corn
9. Tomato sauce, hot sauce, tomato pizza sauce
10. Mushrooms
11. Chicken
12. Pineapple
13. Avocado
14. Spinach
15. Olives
16. Zucchini
17. Basil
18. Oregano
19. Bacon
20. Pesto

