I was bored of making the regular omelette, fried egg and scrambled egg recipes for breakfast so I decided to try something new. Since I have a muffin pan, baking omelette muffins instead of frying an omelette seemed like an exciting, healthier option.

So I mixed my regular omelette ingredients in a bowl. I like to add lots of fresh chopped ginger, garlic, onions, green chilies with other fresh vegetables like broccoli, spinach, zucchini, cabbage, mushrooms, tomatoes… depending on what I have. My mix was fairly spicy because I love spice in my food and I think that’s because I was born and brought up in India – the land of spices!

I also love to add cilantro and turmeric for flavor.

I whisked all the fresh ingredients with eggs and poured them into a buttered/oiled muffin dish. I didn’t have enough mixture (and too many mouths to feed) so I left a few cups empty.

I then added milk and baking powder with cheese on the top. This ensured the muffins puffed up.

I baked them for about 20 minutes at 350° F.

Here are photos from my experiment. Of course, I looked up various recipes before making these myself.

img_27061img_27091img_27201

Side note: For those looking for an eggless omelette option (Yes, those exist)… you can try making a moonglette. The replacement for egg in this recipe is the yellow legume- moong / moong bean/ green gram without skin. I first saw a moonglette in Delhi, the capital city of India… where they were selling these on the street.

Here’s a picture I took.

moonglette

I believe the moonglette is simple to make. You have to replace the egg with soaked moong that has been ground into a paste.

 

