IMG_7299.JPG

So we finally got some Kale and I was already paranoid about it considering all the negative publicity around the vegetable. My first reaction after washing it? It smells. I mean, it has a very distinctive odour, which was not particularly pleasing to my olfactory senses.

I had two options: Eat it raw or cook it. I tried eating a few raw pieces but it tasted bitter and the leaves were rough on my tongue.

So I decided I would cook it ‘Indian style’, just like we cook our veggies in India. To my surprise, it tasted delicious. And so, here is the recipe for you to try.

  1. Chop the Kale.
  2. Fry the following in a pan:
    In hot oil, splutter a few cumin seeds, followed by sliced onions, chopped ginger-garlic and chopped green chilies. Fry all till the onions are golden brown. Add turmeric powder, coriander powder and salt. Fry the mix for one more minute.
  3. Add the kale and sautée till it shrinks in size and becomes all soft.
  4. Your Indian style kale is ready to be consumed. You can serve it with Indian flat bread – Chapati/Roti

AN UPDATE:

I made the same dish with eggs. I like to call it Kale Par Eedu (Eggs on Kale), it’s something Parsis do to their vegetarian food. We usually fry vegetables with eggs on the top.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

